The Haul!

The haul!!

Its just a start, but a good one.  My mom also let me raid her craft room for all the paints as well as two big bags of assorted fabrics.  I got started with a few props for the dolls, which will be made to look like iconic horror characters for our scavenger hunt.  Here’s CarolAnne’s TV set:

The TV is made out of an old cardboard ring box.  I painted it brown and cut a square hole in the lid for the screen.  I cut a square piece of clear thin plastic from the package one my husband’s tools came in.  I painted the static on a small piece of white paper by essentially stabbing it repeatedly with my paintbrush.  I’m going to put a blue battery-operated tealight inside so that it will glow and flicker.

Here’s Jason’s hockey mask:

And here’s the start of Freddy Krueger:

I made the hat out of the cap from a cheap bottle of vodka.  The brim is cut from a flexible piece of plastic.  I know its not exactly a fedora, but I think especially once he has his signature maroon and brown striped shirt, he’ll certainly be recognizable as everyone’s favorite undead pervert. Here’s a better view of the claw hand thingy:

Its just a piece of the same plastic as the hat brim, painted brown of course, and the claws are broken safety pins.  I cut the points off flat so no one would prick themselves.  I still have to bend them out straight with needlenose pliers, so that they point out instead of up, but you get the idea.

I can’t wait to really hit this full force, I’ve been waiting to start the dolls for what feels like forever!  Luckily, I have a day off tomorrow, and I can guarantee by evening I will be gleefully covered in paint and glue, and have much more to show you!

Categories: crafts | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “The Haul!

  1. Ooh, I adore this project. Can’t wait to see the next round of photos! 🙂

  2. Is it wrong that I think they’re cute?
    I want some mini horror characters! Awesome stuff, will definitely have to come back to see what progress you make!

    • The new photos are now up, go have a look-see! And it is definitely not wrong to think they’re cute. Even the most nefarious characters become adorable when they’re miniature and have googly eyes. Thank you so much for reading (and especially for commenting)!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

